Championship Event Rules

All rules will be in accordance with NCAA standards unless otherwise noted.

  1. All games in the Championship series will consist of 4 – 12 minute running time periods. Games will begin promptly.
  2. Each team will receive one timeout each half. Timeouts will not carry over to the next half. The clock will stop for timeouts.
  3. Stop time in last 2 minutes of game when there is a goal differential of 2 goals or less.
  4. All ties will be decided by a sudden victory overtime period. Teams will start at the opposite end of the field from where they finished the game. If the game remains tied after 8 minutes a one minute break will be called by the officials at which time teams will change ends.
  5. Each team will have a one timeout per 8 minute overtime period.
  6. Sticks must meet NCAA or NFHS standards.
  7. Any player, fan or coach ejected from a game will be prohibited from competing in/coaching/watching his/her team’s next game. If a player/coach/fan is ejected for a second time he/she will be disqualified from the tournament.
  8. Fighting is an automatic ejection from the game.
  9. No noise makers will be allowed at any field (horns, whistles, sirens, cowbells, etc.). Offenders will be asked to leave the field.
  10. Each team will be allowed a maximum of three coaches to stand in the team bench area during all Championship Series games in Denver. If you have more coaches actively involved with your team, they are more than welcome to attend the games and be present for warm-ups, but once gameplay starts, they must be cleared from the team bench area and stand with the other spectators.

©2017 World Series of Youth Lacrosse